Friday, 06 July 2012 14:54

20 New Catholic Voluntary Academies Open

Twenty new Catholic Voluntary Academies opened on 1 July 2012, bringing the total number of Catholic academies now open to 110.

The 20 new academies include the first 3 Catholic schools in the diocese of Hallam to convert to academy status (All Saints Catholic High School, Notre Dame High School and St Bernard's Catholic High School). July's academy conversions also include 11 schools from Nottingham diocese, 5 schools from Westminster archdiocese and 1 school from Brentwood diocese.

Catholic schools represented 26% of academy conversions across England in July. In Nottingham diocese, 27 schools out of the total 86 schools in the diocese are now Catholic Voluntary Academies (31%).

Further information about all open Catholic Voluntary Academies may be found here.


The 20 new academies are all listed below.


St Teresa's Catholic Primary School, Colchester


All Saints Catholic High School, A Catholic Voluntary Academy

Notre Dame High School, A Catholic Voluntary Academy

St Bernard's Catholic High School, A Catholic Voluntary Academy


De Lisle Catholic School Loughborough Leicestershire

Holy Cross Catholic Primary School, Whitwick, Leicestershire

Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Catholic Primary School

Sacred Heart Catholic Primary School, Loughborough, Leicestershire

Saint Clare's Catholic Primary School, Coalville, Leicestershire

Saint Martin's Catholic School, Stoke Golding

Saint Mary's Catholic Primary School, Loughborough

Saint Winefride's Catholic Primary School, Shepshed, Leicestershire

St Mary's Catholic Primary School

St Teresa's Catholic Primary School

The Trinity Catholic School


Our Lady Roman Catholic Primary School

St Catherine of Siena Catholic Primary School

St John Roman Catholic Primary School

St Mary Roman Catholic Primary School

St Thomas More Roman Catholic Primary School

Read 16933 times